Home > Stuff > Common BJJ/MMA skin infections

Common BJJ/MMA skin infections

Without going into too much detail on each one, I’ve compiled a short list on some of the more common infections you can pick up on the mat, whether it be Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, MMA, Wrestling or Judo…

Commonly and playfully referred to as ‘Aids’, Aids is something you can pick up if your equipment isn’t clean, your opponent doesnt wash too great, if there’s something going around or when (and this is the most common one) people walk on the mats with outdoor shoes on. You walk around outdoors stepping in God knows what and then you step on the mat – everything can be transferred.

Pride can sometimes take over which means if you DO have Aids, you may not want to tell people as you don’t want to be shamed out of the gym. Which rarely happens. But it does. Sometimes. OK, it never does but it WILL stop you from training from around a week to a few months if not taken care of quickly.

Aids can be found anywhere on the body. If you have it on you arm, you have arm Aids. on your leg, leg Aids. On your face, face Aids. And so on, I’m here to list the most common ones – not to compile a comprehensive list of where you can find such nasty Aids.

And before the questions start, I’ve had every one of these – except Staph. Which is pretty serious Aids.

1. Sweat Rash

Body Aids

I’ve actually got this Aids right now on my torso and back.

Most people who first start out doing grappling will find they’ll suffer from this from the excessive amounts of friction which can cause it to become uncomfortable when you’re hot. You may get it if you haven’t rolled in a while and suddenly come back to do hours upon hours a week *cough*

It’s caused by trapped sweat under the skin and is basically a yeast/fungal infection. It isn’t contagious as it’s caused by sweat and it isn’t bacterial or viral.

It takes the form of a small patch and if not treated straightaway, will get bigger. It’s slightly raised and rough. You may mistake it for dry skin at first. You’ll find that you might scratch away at it as it can get itchy, if this happens, put something on it to cool it down.

The easiest way to treat this is to find a anti-fungal cream or something with Hydrocortisone in it. Canestan works well but you may get funny looks from the pharmacist when buying it…

2. Ringworm

My Arm Aids from 2008

Ringworm is the most common Aids in grappling and some gyms may suffer an outbreak from time to time as it can commonly be mistaken for nothing important to address. It’s contagious so any sign of it must be reported back to your leader and you stay off the mat until told otherwise.

This beauty on the left started out as what I thought was an itchy spot on my arm and within a matter of hours had taken on it’s full on angry form.

It can be smooth, slightly raised in the middle with a rough ring round the edge. It may turn angry red like my friend on the left.

Because Ringworm is the same fungal infection as athletes foot, athletes foot medication will clear it up fairly fast. I recommend Lamisil Anti Fungal Spray. Every 2 hours and it should be gone within a week.

3. Cellulitis

My leg AIDS

This is not what you girlfriend complains about all the time.

Cellulitis is where it starts to get into pretty serious Aids as it can develop into the scary, all avoided, Staph infection.

This is a bacterial infection which starts off as a small red dot which can be confused as a spot or an insect bite. You WILL try and pop it and it WILL hurt. Your limb will also take on the weight of an elephant and it WILL become quite painful to put any pressure on it.

It’ll go red and will feel quite warm and when you stick a fingernail into it, it will leave a slight indentation. I will NOT recommend heating up a needle and sticking it in. It hurts. It’ll also be itchy and increase in size via swelling.

You can’t get rid of this through over the counter medicine. You’ll need to go to the doctor for antibiotics (probably Flucloxacillin)  and you WILL be off the mat for a little while.

Sorry for the capitals. But it’s pretty serious. Ignore my jokey nature.

My legs AIDS leaking pus

4. Staph Infection

See Kevin Randleman here healthy with lots of muscles?

Now here he is without health and muscles

This is one of the most serious Aids.

A bacterial infection which will pretty much eat through your muscles, it starts off as Cellulitis and can develop into what you see on your right (Kevin Randleman in 2007/2008).

It IS serious and you will HAVE to go to the hospital and doctors.

Go now.

The easiest way to avoid such infections and skin ailments is to keep your gear clean. Wash your gi after every use and always shower after training. Don’t roll into bed and shower later, do it as soon as possible. Tell your training partners to do the same and make sure the mats at your gym are cleaned with disinfectant as often as possible.

  1. August 15, 2010 at 3:26 am

    Seriously, I think I just vomited in my mouth. Apart from the many other reasons as to why I don’t do what you do, and the fact that the skinny, athletic gene decided to skip me (onviously), this would probably be at the top of my list. Really. Nasty. Very informative, yet disturbing.

  2. August 15, 2010 at 3:27 am

    Obviously I meant to spell obviously, obviously, not onviously. Thanks. Going to poke my eye out because of my obvious onvious spelling mistake now.

  3. Amee Kundrick
    February 5, 2013 at 4:59 pm

    Ringworm patches form in a circular shape. The patch has clear defined red edges and a center of skin color. The name worm is misleading because no worm has anything to do with this disease. The fungus finds the groin area moist and warm and that is ideal for it to multiply. You can get the infection by touching somebody else’s ringworm, sharing towels, etc. animals also spread this disease. If you touch an animal suffering from ringworm and then scratch your groin area the fungus will infect you..

    Our favorite web-site
    <http://www.beautyfashiondigest.com/best-mineral-makeup/

  4. April 5, 2013 at 4:52 am

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long
    as I provide credit and sources back to your weblog?
    My website is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my visitors would
    certainly benefit from some of the information you provide here.

    Please let me know if this alright with you. Appreciate it!

  5. April 5, 2013 at 7:12 am

    http://www.nsppf.org.uk :
    Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long
    as I provide credit and sources back to your weblog?
    My website is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my visitors would
    certainly benefit from some of the information you provide here.
    Please let me know if this alright with you. Appreciate it!

    Of course you can!

  6. April 24, 2013 at 8:51 pm

    I don’t even know how I stopped up right here, however I believed this post was once good. I do not recognize who you’re but
    definitely you are going to a famous blogger when you are not already.
    Cheers!

  7. Huh!
    June 18, 2013 at 9:11 am

    Nasty!

  8. Huh!
    June 18, 2013 at 9:12 am

    Good for him!

  9. Huh!
    June 18, 2013 at 9:13 am

    Do infections look worse on black people?

  10. July 13, 2013 at 9:11 am

    Everything is very open with a very clear clarification of the issues.
    It was really informative. Your website is very helpful.
    Thanks for sharing!

  11. July 20, 2013 at 1:32 am

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog
    and wanted to say that I have truly enjoyed surfing around your blog
    posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  12. December 14, 2013 at 10:01 pm

    It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this outstanding
    blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to fresh updates and will share this blog with my
    Facebook group. Chat soon!

  13. December 30, 2013 at 10:13 pm

    I like the helpful information you provide in your
    articles. I will bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently.
    I am quite certain I will learn lots of new stuff right here!
    Good luck for the next!

  14. January 3, 2014 at 8:38 pm

    Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am
    impressed! Extremely useful information specially the last
    part :) I care for such info a lot. I was looking for this particular information
    for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

  15. March 6, 2014 at 5:08 am

    Hi to all, how is everything, I think every onee is getting
    more from this website, andd your views are pleasant in favor of nnew users.

  16. March 8, 2014 at 8:44 am

    It’s nearly impossible to find experienced people about this topic,
    but you sound like you know what you’re talking about!
    Thanks

  17. March 24, 2014 at 6:53 am

    You can definitely see your expertise in the article you write.
    The world hopes for more passionate writers such as you who aren’t
    afraid to mention how they believe. All the time go after your heart.

  18. March 24, 2014 at 6:37 pm

    Very quickly this web site will be famous among all blogging and site-building
    viewers, due to it’s nice content

  19. March 25, 2014 at 4:50 pm

    I have learn some excellent stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for
    revisiting. I wonder how a lot effort you set to make this type of fantastic informative web
    site.

  20. March 26, 2014 at 1:41 am

    It’s an awesome post for all the internet viewers;
    they will obtain benefit from it I am sure.

  21. March 27, 2014 at 2:50 am

    Hello! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay.

    I’m absolutely enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.

  22. March 27, 2014 at 3:03 am

    I am really glad to read this webpage posts which carries tons of helpful facts, thanks for providing these
    kinds of data.

  23. March 27, 2014 at 3:34 am

    I am extremely impressed with your writing skills and also
    with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?
    Either way keep up the excellent quality writing,
    it is rare to see a nice blog like this one nowadays.

  24. March 27, 2014 at 12:03 pm

    Hey! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing a
    few months of hard work due to no data backup. Do you have any
    solutions to stop hackers?

  25. March 27, 2014 at 3:45 pm

    My developer is trying to persuade me to move to .net from
    PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the costs.

    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using
    WordPress on a variety of websites for about a year and am nervous about switching to another platform.
    I have heard very good things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress
    posts into it? Any help would be really appreciated!

  26. March 28, 2014 at 3:09 am

    Hello colleagues, good post and fastidious urging commented here,
    I am in fact enjoying by these.

  27. March 28, 2014 at 4:28 am

    I am genuinely glad to glance at this blog posts which consists of
    lots of useful facts, thanks for providing such statistics.

  28. March 28, 2014 at 5:24 am

    Hi there, You’ve done an incredible job. I’ll certainly digg it and
    personally recommend to my friends. I’m confident they will be benefited from this website.

  29. April 18, 2014 at 12:55 pm

    These are genuinely great ideas in regarding blogging.
    You have touched some nice factors here. Any
    way keep up wrinting.

  30. May 8, 2014 at 12:18 pm

    Apart out of this, menthol oil has proven to protect gums against germs and hence is extensively used toothpastes and other oral care products.
    But, I went into playing Damnation with low expectations and I was pleasantly surprised using
    the vertical platforming and shooting gallery sections.
    No matter you want to do while using building you are building, there
    exists a frame which is perfect for you personally.

  31. June 23, 2014 at 6:52 pm

    Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website
    before but after browsing through many of the posts
    I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely
    happy I discovered it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back often!

  32. August 30, 2014 at 4:16 pm

    click here for greatest information on see post available

  33. September 21, 2014 at 2:59 am

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your weblog.

    You have some really good articles and I feel I would be a
    good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load
    off, I’d absolutely love to write some articles for your blog in exchange for
    a link back to mine. Please blast me an email if interested.
    Thanks!

  34. October 5, 2014 at 3:27 am

    Hi colleagues, how is everything, and what you would
    like to say concerning this post, in my view its genuinely remarkable for me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

